Honolulu Coin Club




The Honolulu Coin Club, Hawaii’s oldest coin club, was founded in 1955. It is affiliated with the Hawaii State Numismatic Association and the American Numismatic Association.

The purpose of the club is to encourage interest and participation in things numismatic, to disseminate numismatic information, and to cultivate harmony and goodwill amongst members of the club.

The club meets at 7:30 p.m. on every second and fourth Wednesday of each month except December. Meetings are held at the Susannah Wesley Community Center located at 1117 Kaili St, Honolulu, Hawaii.

Introduction to the Honolulu Coin Club:
The Honolulu Coin Club was founded on May 6, 1955, by a then United States Marine Corps Captain named Charles J. Laskowski.

Henry Kenway Luke is credited with naming the Honolulu Coin Club.
The Honolulu Coin Club participated in its first National Coin Week display in April of 1959. The display was on exhibit at the Bank of Hawaii, Main Branch, at its old location on the corner of King and Bishop Streets.

Honolulu Coin Club’s first newsletter was called “The Koin Klubber” and was dated February, 1956.

“The newly-organized Honolulu Coin Club will meet at 7:30 p.m. Monday at the St. Louis College Alumni Clubhouse, 925 Isenberg Street. At its recent organization meeting, the group selected Captain Herbert Schlansky as temporary Chairman and Mrs. Annie May Chun as tentative Secretary.” -Honolulu Star Bulletin May 14, 1955

“Eighteen numismatists recently formed the Territory’s first coin collectors club through the efforts of Capt. Charles J. Laskowski, USMC.

New members, 18 or older are invited to join.

The meetings are held at 7:30 PM every second and fourth Wednesday of the month at the Susannah Wesley Community Center at 117 Kaili St. No Meetings in the Month of December.

President: Joe Au Franz
Secretary: James Lenox
Treasurer: Clifford Young
Assistant Treasurer:

Directors: Marion Kendrick, Francis Loo, Crane Saito, Allan Catz, Justin Wong




%d bloggers like this: